Arturo Ripstein Renowned Mexican filmmaker Arturo Ripstein whose filmography include popular films like No One Writes to the Colonel and Deep Crimson will head the jury of 18th International Film Festival of Kerala.

Ripstein is a filmmaker who has collaborated with many literary figures including Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Naguib Mahfouz, Joss Emilio Pancheco, Vincente Leñero, José Donoso and Luis Spota.  His No One Writes to the Colonel, a film based on the famous novella of Marquez, will be screened in IFFK.

Other jury members are Thai filmmaker Aditya Assarat, South African filmmaker Khalo Matabane, actor Gouthami and famous festival director Peter Scarlet.

Aditya Assarat is a screenwriter and filmmaker whose first feature film Wonderful Town won many awards at international festivals. Khalo Matabane, an award-winning South African filmmaker, has to his credit many nationally and internationally acclaimed films. Matabane has also conceived a number of documentaries, plays and campaigns.  Some of  his best-known films include Poetic ConversationsTwo Decades Still and Young Lions. Gouthami has acted in numerous films spread across all South languages and Hindi in a career spanning more than three decades.

Peter Scarlet has organised global festivals like Abu Dhabi Film Festival, Tribeca Film Festival, Cinémathéque Française and the San Francisco International Film Festival.