Mumbai International Film festival has announced Asghar Farhadi’s name as the jury president for this year. Asghar Farhadi is a celebrated Iranian filmmaker who has won an Academy Award in 2012 under the Best Foreign Language Film category for his film A Separation.  He also won a Golden Globe Award for the same film.

He was awarded the Prize of Ecumenical Jury this year for his film The Past (Le Passé) at Cannes Film festival. Farhadi was also awarded the Grand Medal of Vermeil by the mayor of Paris for the same film. Bertrand Delanoe while awarding him said, “Farhadi is a filmmaker who makes one becomes familiar with the rich culture of Iran. His works remind us of Victor Hugo.”

He will preside over the jury which includes, British dircotr Waris Hussein, noted film critic from Hong Kong Roger Garcia, Afghan director Siddiq Barmak and Australian editor Jill Bilcock.

There is a panel discussion scheduled in which Farhadi and French director Leos Carax will talk about issues on cinema and film making.

He is an alumni of University of Tehran’s School of Dramatic Arts and Tarbiat Modarres University.

His celebrated works include Dancing in the Dust (2003), The Beautiful 2004), Fireworks Wednesday (2006) and About Elly (2009).

A total of 200 films from 65 countries will be screened at the Mumbai International Film Festival. The festival is scheduled for October 17 to 24.