It was curtains on the glittering 5th Jagran Film Festival ​​​​on Sunday, as the star studded mega event came to a close on its seventh day, but not before honoring excellence in films and of course, featuring qualitative cinema.

The closing ceremony held at PVR Cinemas at Andheri West in Mumbai saw eminent names from the film industry including veteran actress Asha Parekh, Actor Ayushmann Khurrana, Rajkumar Rao, Waman Bhonsle, Director Mahesh Bhatt, Tigmanshu Dhulia, Vikas Bahl, Udit Narayan, Pawan Malhotra, Lalit Pandit, Rajendra Talak, Usha Jahav, Rajat Kapoor, Priyanka Bose, Shoojit Sircar, actor Vinay Pathak, Oscar award winning sound recordist Resul Pookutty, music directors Anu Malik and Amit Trivedi among others.


The Best Actor (Male) award gave JFF jury a hard time and finally got shared between Rajkumar Rao for Shahid and Sanjay Mishra for Ankhon Dekhi for their outstanding performances. Kangna Ranaut bagged the Best Actor (Female) award for her portrayal of Rani in Queen. Shoojit Sircar was adjudged the Best Director for his hugely appreciated masterpiece in Madras Café while Rajendra Talak’s ‘A Rainy Day’ was named the Best Feature Film. Sanjeev Gupta was honored as the Best Debut Director for his maiden attempt in ‘Q’ while the award for Best Screenplay went to Shafaat Khan for his work in Dekh Tamasha Dekh.


Chandrashekhar Prajapati won the awards for Best Editing for his magical touch to ‘Madras Café’. Rohit Kulkarni won the laurels for Best Background Score for his incredible work in ‘Mary Kom’. Best Sound Design was bagged by Resul Pookutty andAmrit Pritam Dutta for ‘A Rainy Day’. Fasahat Khan’s highly skilled hands behind the camera in ‘Children of War’ bagged him the Best Cinematography Award. Shefali Alvaris won the Best Singer Female Award for her melodious songs in Queen and Gurdas Mann’s tuneful vocals bagged him the Best Singer Male Award for Dil Vil Pyar Vyar. Amit Trivedi was declared the Best Music director for his distinguished work in Queen. Veteran editor Waman Bhonsle was given the best award for contribution to cinematic art.


Sukanya Verma’s analytical and discerning views on a variety of film across genres won her the Best Critic Award while Farewell To The Moon was adjudged the Best International Movie.

Children of War & Punjab 1984 bagged the Special Mention title while Punjab 1984 also won the Jury Special Award. The beautiful actress of the golden era of Hindi Cinema, Asha Parekh was honored with the Icon of Indian Cinema Award and deservingly so. The Gold, Silver and Bronze for Cinema of the Sellers were picked up by ‘Anchor Panasonic’, ‘Kala Teeka of Tata Tea’ and ‘Bisleri’ respectively.

The engaging extravaganza of world cinema while culminating on  September 28, 2014 left indelible imprints and promised to be back next year with another edition of entertainment, excellence and encouragement.