LIFF 2013 to host retrospective on Gulzar

LIFF 2013 to host retrospective on Gulzar

The upcoming Ladakh International Film Festival will celebrate 100 years of Indian cinema and also host a retrospective on noted poet, lyricist and director, Gulzar. The event will be curated by filmmaker Vishal Bhardwaj and a documentary on the acclaimed lyricist will be presented by close friend and theatre personality Salim Arif.

The festival will held in Leh, Ladakh from July 5-7, 2013 and the Retrospective will screen evergreen films including Mere Apne, Achanak, Ijazat, Khushboo, Angoor and Machis. National award winning actress and director Aparna Sen will head the jury of the second Ladakh International Film Festival (LIFF).

The focus of LIFF this year is ‘women in cinema’ with the tag line “celebrating womanhood. The Directorate of Film Festivals has curated a special section of women oriented films made in India. This section will screen Diamond Queen by Homi Wadia, Meghe Dhaka Tara by Ritwik Ghatak, Mirch Masala by Ketan Mehta, Dasi by B. Narsing Rao, Dahan by Rituparno Ghosh, Chandani Bar by Madhur Bhandarkar, Mee Sindhutai Sapkal by Anant Mahadevan and Byari by Suveeran.

The Green Carpet premiere this year will be of the film on South Asia’s great freedom fighter, nationalist Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan – The Frontier Gandhi – by American documentary filmmaker Teri McLuhan.

The Ladakhi section of the festival will include Tsering Motup Chospa’s feature film Lzadol (broken piece of moon), with its central theme of women’s strength, patience and wit against the evils of the day. The Feature films in competition are: Fandry, Chayilliam Hues of Red, The Bella Vista, Days of Life, Ko;Yad, Cheekha the crier, Oass, My Tribe and Black Forest.

The Documentary films in competition are: B.V. Karanth, Milange Babey Ratan De mele, Venice Syndrome, The Girls from South, Tzevtank, City’s Edge, Stolen Democrazy, Bottle masala in, Behind The Mirror, A few Days More, Who will be a Gorkha, At the Crossroads, Texture of LossJungwa – Broken silence, Journey into the light and Los rockers.