President releases commemorative postage stamps

President Pranab Mukherjee on Friday released commemorative postage stamps on the eve of 100 years of Indian Cinema depicting 50 iconic Bollywood personalities including Dev Anand, Smita Patil and Yash Chopra.

“Six Miniature Sheets depicting 50 iconic personalities of Indian Cinema to commemorate this century long journey” were released by the President, according to an official statement by Department of Posts.”This issue of 50 stamps is the biggest issue to commemorate an occasion by India Post,” the statement said.

The first two mini-sheets comprising nine stamps depict some Dadasaheb Phalke awardees and the rest four with eight stamps each depict personalities from various fields of cinema.

“The personalities depicted in the stamps include Ashok Kumar, Bhalji Pendharkar, Durga Khote, Dev Annad, Yash Chopra, Smita Patil, Rajesh Khanna, Shammi Kapoor, Suraiya, Geeta Dutt, Sohrab Modi, Tapan Sinha, CV Sridhar, Bhanumathi etc.,” the statement said.

India’s first full length feature film Raja Harishchandra by Dada Saheb Phalke was released on May 3, 1913.

(Source: IANS)