National Film Awards which will be given out on May 3, 2014 were announced today. Ship of Theseus bagged the Golden Lotus for Best Feature Film and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag won Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment award. Hansal Mehta, director of critically acclaimed film Shahid won the Best Director Award.

Among other big wins, the National Award for Best Actor  was shared between Rajkumar Rao for Shahid and Malayalam actor Suraj Venjaramoodu for Perariyathavar. Geetanjali Thapa won Best Actress for Liar’s Dice. Saurabh Shukla won Best Supporting Actor for Jolly LLB. The Best Supporting Actress award is shared between Ship Of Theseus actress Aida Elkashaf and Amruta Subhash for Marathi film Astu.

The Best Make-Up, Best Costume Design, Best Music and Best Male Playback Singer awards went to the Bengali film Jaatishwar. The Best Hindi Film award was bagged by Jolly LLB. Jal won the Best Special Effects, Madras Cafe scooped the Best Audiography Award and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag won an award for Best Choreography. Miss Lovely received a Special Jury Award.

Here is the list of winners of this year’s National Awards :

Best Feature Film: Ship Of Theseus (English-Hindi)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bhaag Milkha Bhaag (Hindi)
Best Children’s Film: Kaphal (Hindi)
Best Direction: Hansal Mehta, Shahid (Hindi)
Best Film on Environment/Conservation: Perariyathavar (Malayalam)
Best Debut Film of a Director: Nagraaj Manjule for Fandry (Marathi)
Best Film on National Integration: Thalaimuraigal (Tamil)
Best Actor: Rajkummar Rao (Shahid) and Suraj Venjaramoodu (Perariyathavar)
Best Actress: Geetanjali Thapa (Liar’s Dice)
Best Supporting Actor: Saurabh Shukla (Jolly LLB)
Best Supporting Actress: Aida Elkashif (Ship Of Theseus) and Amruta Subhash (Astu)
Best Child Artist: Somnath Avghade (Fandry) and Sadhana (Thanga Meengal)
Best Film on Social Issues: Tuhya Dharma Koncha (Marathi)
Best Hindi Film: Jolly LLB (Hindi)
Best Assamese Film: Ajeyo
Best Telugu Film: Naa Bangaru Talli
Best Tamil Film: Thanga Meengal
Best Malayalam Film: North 24 Kaadham
Best Kannada Film: December 1
Best Marathi Film: Aajcha Diwas Majha
Best Konkani Film: Baga Beach
Best English Film: The Coffin Maker
Best Khasi Film: RI
Best Sherdukpen Film: Crossing Borders
Special Mention: Yellow (Marathi) and Na Bangaaru Talli (Telugu)
Best Choreography: Bhaag Milkha Bhaag (Hindi)
Best Location Sound & Sound Design: Madras Café (Hindi)
Best Sound Re-recording: Swapaanam (Malayalam)
Best Special Effects: Jal (Hindi)
Best Music Direction (Songs): Jaatishwar (Bengali)
Best Background Score: Naa Bangaru Talli 
Best Dialogue: Astu
Best Male Playback Singer: Rupankar for Jaatishwar
Best Female Playback Singer: Bela Shende for Tuhya Dharma Kocha
Best Cinematography: Liar’s Dice
Best Original Screenplay: December 1 (Kannada)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Prakruti (Kannada)
Best Editing: Vallinam (Tamil)
Best Production Design: Miss Lovely (Hindi)
Best Costume Design: Jaatishwar
Best Make Up: Jaatishwar
Best Lyrics: Thanga Meengal (Tamil)
Special Jury Award: Yellow and Miss Lovely