Out of the 24 selected, three of the participants selected for the 9th Asian Film Academy (AFA) of the Busan International Film Festival are Indians.:Gajjela Venu Madhav, Sanal George and Eeshit Narain. Sanal George is a sound designer based in Pune. Eeshit Narain is a student at the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII). This year, 228 applicants had applied for the Asian Film Academy.

Launched in 2005, AFA is an intensive global film academy in which fellows gain practical field experience from master directors and network with international filmmakers. AFA fellows make short films during the program under the guidance of renowned faculties.

The dean of AFA this year is LEE Chang-dong who won the Director’s Award at the Venice International Film Festival for Oasis in 2002 and Best Screenplay at the Cannes Film Festival for Poetry in 2010. Joining LEE Chang-dong are director of the Busan Film Commission, OH Seok-geun (South Korea) as deputy dean, Aditya Assarat (Thailand) as the directing mentor and Kurita Toyomichi (Japan) as the cinematography mentor who will be working as AFA faculty for the second time.

Asian Film Academy will be held from September 26 to October 13, 2013 in Busan.